Grateful

candle

Well, this Advent and Christmas isn’t turning out exactly as I planned. I had an extensive list of all we were going to do and make, and almost none of it has happened. We have a tree. We have some snowflakes on the windows. Nearly all the homemade projects I had planned have been given up on, save just a few. My house is mostly undecorated. I have no idea what I’m making for Christmas dinner, nor have I baked a thing. I have been down with a terrible sinus infection for a week now, the kind that makes me lay on the couch and let me kids watch Caillou on my phone for two hours a day. I was mostly well for a week before that, but was sick with a mysterious sinus/pressure headache for the week before that. So all of December has felt kind of like just holding on.

I had about a ten minute pity party about failing at Christmas before I got a hold of myself (not that I haven’t had plenty of other pity parties over being sick). This is a Christmas to be grateful. We are in our new home, after so many years far away. Other than this temporary illness, we are all healthy. Miriam has managed not to do any permanent damage to herself, despite her best attempts. And even though I can barely stand to think about it, my prayers are focused on those far too many families in Connecticut for whom Christmas will always be missing someone. So, even as I spent my pre-Christmas days hunched over a bowl of boiling water to try and clear my lungs and sinuses while my kids watch yet another episode of Caillou, I am grateful for all our blessings, especially having my husband and children here with me.

I’m hoping we will all at least be at the Christmas liturgy at midnight. I’m trying to let go of the rest. At least we’ll be going up to my parents’ and grandmother’s houses after Christmas, and I assure you, they won’t ever fail at Christmas 🙂

Although the list is much smaller than I hoped, I’ll post here after Christmas about the few projects I did manage to finish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful

  1. Leah says:

    Sorry about the sinus infection 😦
    Thank goodness for Caillou and other non-Disney shows!

    I look forward to reading more life updates 🙂

  2. Arlie says:

    I hope your Christmas was joyful! We got our tree the weekend before Western Christmas. Once we got it home and I began decorating it, I broke out in horrible hives. Needless to say I didn’t get to decorate it. Thankfully I have sweet young teenage girl neighbors who like doing those type of activities and helped decorate it with my husband. I did do a little baking, but Christmas is never how I envision it. Perhaps this is because those externals are not Christmas and I always need that reminder.

    I am glad you are blogging again.

Leave a Reply

