Stocking Stuffers

20121222-211349.jpg

I’m trying to come up with non-candy stocking stuffers for the kids, so I made up some play dough tonight. It took less than an hour to make three separate batches. They are going to be so excited 🙂 Here is the recipe I used, although similar ones are all over the Internet.

1 cup flour
1 cup water
1/4 cup salt
2 tsp. cream of tartar
1 T. oil
Food coloring

Mix all ingredients well, then cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until it turns into a thick blob that holds together. Turn out if the pan and knead until smooth. Store in airtight container.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stocking Stuffers

  1. Mimi says:

    Very cool indeed.

  2. aviendha1979 says:

    How did the food coloring turn out? I’ve thought about trying this but I fear staining my table.

    • julianamama says:

      I messed up something and the play dough was fine at first but ended up wet and super sticky. I think I accidentally used corn starch instead of cream of tartar. Not sure about staining your table – it has never come off on counters or clothes or anything, but your table might be more porous than mine, so I can’t promise!

Leave a Reply

