Inaugural Babywearing Meetup

Today we had our very first Westside babywearing meetup. I put some feelers out last month, seeing if anyone would be interested, as all the Portland meetups are way too far for me. Another mama jumped in and found a space and time for us, and we had four mamas and seven kids at our first meeting at a local coffeeshop (including a tiny five-day old little squish!). I wasn’t sure what to expect – is wearing babies really enough of a commonality to organize a group around? But I realized that wearing my babies has been something that started as a practical necessity but has grown into an integral way I parent my children, and sometimes I take for granted how much a part of my life it is. I also forget that it can be much more frustrating than comforting for some mamas and babies just starting out. Seeing how happy two of the mamas were once they were helped along with getting their little babies snuggled up in a ring sling or a woven wrap, a process that had previously been only frustrating and uncomfortable for them, made me think that it really is a great blessing to have always had my babies happily snuggled up close, comfortably for both me and for them. It’s a joy to be able to pass that experience on.

We hope to meet twice a month, sometimes in a coffee shop or meeting room, sometimes just to have fun at the park. If you are on Portland’s west side and want to join us, just drop me a comment and I will pass on the details!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inaugural Babywearing Meetup

  1. Xenia Katie says:

    That’s great to hear! Good for you; I’m so glad you can lend support and your expertise to other babywearing (and first time) mamas!

  2. Mimi says:

    Wonderful! I have a Goddaughter who is very active in a local babywearing group!

Leave a Reply

