Solstice Eve, and a Recipe

We had a busy and beautiful day. I try and take the kids out somewhere in nature on Fridays. I’ve been hoping to find a place where they can play in a creek or shallow river, and found a lovely place today in the trails behind the Portland Auduban Society, in Forest Park. We camped out at the creek and the kids played in the water (Miriam fell in twice), we ate lunch there and read the very last pages of Stuart Little. Then we then took a hike, looked for salamanders in the pond, found snails and banana slugs (which makes the kids so excited), and finally stopped at the Auduban Society to see the owls and hawks. I think we will make this a regular spot this summer. I only have phone pictures, so instead you get a lot of pictures of the kids goofing around after dinner 🙂 I shared our dinner recipe below to make them at least somewhat related.

James came and asked me for a piece of the pineapple I had in a bowl for dinner. “It’s for the fairy that lives in the fairy house, Mama. Do fairies like pineapple?”

IMG_2803

IMG_2805

Sophia was a big fan of dinner. Sophia is a big fan of anything she can eat, actually. It doesn’t even really have to be food.

IMG_2808

IMG_2815

IMG_2829

Miriam’s hair looks crazy in the sun! The pictures above and below were taken minutes apart. Nothing is different about her hair. The sun just makes it look like a giant poofy golden halo.

IMG_2834

 

I LOVE EATING DINNER SO MUCH, MAMA!

 

IMG_2842

My cilantro flowered. My cilantro never lasts long before it flowers! What am I doing wrong!? I manage to keep the other herbs from flowering for quite a while just by keeping them pinched back. But cilantro just goes in a day before I notice. At least the flowers are pretty, and the seeds are coriander! We saved all the coriander seeds one year and actually used them.

IMG_2847

Before dinner we took a quick trip to Home Depot to load up on shrubs and plants to put in this weekend.

IMG_2802

I was thankful to have put dinner in the crock pot before leaving for such a busy day. I thought I’d share the recipe. We’re in the middle of the Apostle’s Fast and this was a very easy lenten recipe to throw together and have ready when we finally got home.

Cajun Shrimp and Rice

1 28 ounce can whole or diced tomatoes
1 large onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 1/2 cups rice of any sort (I used one cup brown rice and 1/2 cup wild rice)
2 cups chicken broth or stock (use vegetable broth for a strictly fasting recipe)
2 cloves garlic, minced (or if you’re in a big hurry like I was, 1 tsp garlic powder)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp smoked or regular paprika (I used smoked)
1 tsp oregano
pinch of cayenne, or more if you aren’t feeding little kids like I am

Mix all this together in your crock pot. Cook for 5-6 hours on low or 3 1/2 hours or so on high. About 20 minutes before serving, stir in:

1 lb. cooked tail-off shrimp (I put mine in frozen and they defrosted and heated up in 20 minutes).
1 cup frozen corn

Once everything is hot, serve! The adults here like it with copious amounts of Tabasco sauce.

I’d guess this serves 6-8.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solstice Eve, and a Recipe

  1. Ema Jones says:

    Such cute kids.
    I love the recipe too 🙂
    Enjoy Pasta and basil clam sauce
    http://bit.ly/1lvj53W
    🙂

  2. love the pictures!!! blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

