Yarn Along: Shale Baby Blanket

yarnalong

This is my first Yarn Along in a long time, because I quit knitting for a long time. I started knitting a baby blanket for my third baby almost as soon as I knew I was pregnant with her. It is the Shale Baby Blanket by Jared Flood. Sophia was born nearly eleven months ago, and I thought her blanket would be finished soon after she was born. Other than making her a little capped-sleeved sweater (that was easy to knit up with her in my arms), I haven’t knit much of anything since. I spent most of those eleven months holding a baby. I was so happy to have Sophia sleep in my arms nearly all the time, and she was happy to do it until she started being able to put herself to sleep in her bed just recently. So I’ve finally picked up her baby blanket again. It’s getting close to done, and I really hope she can have it for her first birthday at least!

I’ve just started reading The Religious Potential of the Child. I’m so intrigued by the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd and the work some have done to adapt it for Orthodox children. I’m looking forward to reading this book that is the foundation of the Catechesis. Liturgical worship is so well suited for the way children learn, and I have always sought to make my children’s religious education as physical and experiential as possible, but can definitely use some more ideas on creatively bringing them into the spiritual and liturgical life.

Joining Ginny today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along: Shale Baby Blanket

  1. That blanket is beautiful! Sophia is a lucky little lady.

  2. mamahay says:

    Thank you for sharing the link to the adapted catechesis – our little mission is trying to decide how to approach educating the littles (aside from letting them experience the liturgy!) and I just heard of the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd. I’ll have to check out that book, too!

  3. Pingback: Yarn Along: First Birthday Ball | cilldarablog

Leave a Reply

