First Day

together

The first day went pretty well! When I was making my coffee early this morning, I heard someone thunder down the stairs, and James came bursting into the kitchen and practically skidded to a stop. I said, “Good morning, Bud! What are you so excited about?” He said, all out of breath, “I’m excited about homeschool!” Isn’t that how every first day of school should go?

We got to everything I planned, didn’t feel too rushed or like I tried to fit in too much. Sophia (and really Miriam too) made Morning Time a little chaotic, but that’s just what happens when you homeschool with a one-year-old and a three-year-old. Sophia was exceedingly helpful after that, though—she fell asleep from the beginning of regular lesson time until well after lunch.

I decided homeschoolers totally get to take first day of school pictures too. It will be fun to add these to their end-of-year folders and see how they’ve grown over the year!

1st day - james 1st day - Miriam

A few shots from Morning Time (we went out and picked new roses for Our Lady):

IMG_4076

IMG_4082

Miriam was characteristically uncooperative with the picture-taking. But the bloopers are almost better than the one I chose. I kind of love the Shirley Temple pose.

IMG_4093 IMG_4097 IMG_4101 IMG_4104 IMG_4105

Circle TimeIMG_4121 - Version 2 IMG_4122

Their new journals (I take dictation) and a new read-aloud (which we started and finished today). They were totally entranced by this story. I ordered the other two in the trilogy during quiet time.

IMG_4124

We had tea and an art project in the afternoon after quiet time. Really, I just started out making tea for me so that I would stay awake, but I rarely get away with that. They love it when I make them tea. I’ve had this little tea pot set since college, a gift from my roommate. It sat in a box for many years, but now it is the perfect thing for making about a cup and a half of black tea for me and a couple little cups of herbal tea for them.

IMG_4127

We did something called the “Scribble Art Challenge” from The Artful Parent. We all started our own pictures using oil pastels, and after a few minutes all passed our pictures to the right. Then we worked on the new picture. Then passed again. Eventually you get your own picture back and see how it’s changed.

IMG_4130 IMG_4134

James said his picture was of the Audubon Society (where we spend Friday mornings on the trails) and asked for help spelling it.

IMG_4140

I’m so glad I get to spend this year learning with these little monkeys.

IMG_4141

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day

  1. Emily says:

    Loved reading this!

  2. lila says:

    What an ebullient start! We are on our fourth reading of My Father’s Dragon — in two weeks! I think it’s time for me to order the other two, too!

Leave a Reply

